2020 College Football Hall of Fame class: Eric Crouch, Steve McNair lead inductees

Eric Crouch-120617-GETTY-FTR
(Getty Images)

A Heisman Trophy winner, a legendary FCS quarterback and a member of the famed "Pony Express" highlight the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class.

Seventeen players and two coaches will be inducted into the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame 2020 class on Dec. 8 during the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown.

Notable inductees include Nebraska quarterback Eric Crouch, who won the Heisman Trophy in 2001 and led the Huskers to an appearance in the BCS championship game, is part of the class. Late Alcorn State quarterback Steve McNair also made the list after passing for 5,377 yards and 47 touchdowns in 1994 to finish third in the Heisman Trophy voting. SMU running back Eric Dickerson — who rushed for 4,450 yards and 47 touchdowns with the Mustangs from 1979-82 — will join those two and 14 other players:

2020 College Football Hall of Fame player inductees

  • Lomas Brown — offensive tackle, Florida (1981-84)
  • Keith Byars — running back, Ohio State (1982-85)
  • Eric Crouch — quarterback, Nebraska (1998-2001)
  • Eric Dickerson — running back, Southern Methodist (1979-82)
  • Glenn Dorsey — defensive tackle, LSU (2004-07)
  • Jumbo Elliott — offensive tackle, Michigan (1984-87)
  • Jason Hanson — kicker, Washington State (1988-91)
  • E.J. Henderson — linebacker, Maryland (1999-2002)
  • E.J. Junior — defensive end, Alabama (1977-80)
  • Steve McNair — quarterback, Alcorn State (1991-94)
  • Cade McNown — quarterback, UCLA (1995-98)
  • Leslie O'Neal — defensive tackle, Oklahoma State (1982-85)
  • Anthony Poindexter — defensive back, Virginia (1995-98)
  • David Pollack — defensive end, Georgia (2001-04)
  • Bob Stein — defensive end, Minnesota (1966-68)
  • Michael Westbrook — wide receiver, Colorado (1991-94)
  • Elmo Wright — wide receiver, Houston (1968-70)

Two coaches also will be inducted: Dick Sheridan, who compiled a 121-52-5 record at Furman and N.C. State from 1978-92, and Andy Talley, who finished 258-155-2 at St. Lawrence (N.Y.) and Villanova from 1979-2016.

Latest News

SEC is about to welcome one superpower from the Big 12, not two
SEC is about to welcome one superpower, not two
Exploring Big Ten's best expansion plans for building a superconference
Bender: How Big Ten can build best superconference
Bob Bowlsby's signature in cease-and-desist letter to ESPN gets Twitter's attention
Bob Bowlsby's signature in cease-and-desist letter to ESPN gets Twitter's attention
College football realignment updates: Latest news as Texas, Oklahoma reportedly leave Big 12
College football realignment updates
Scott Frost-092218-GETTY-FTR
With Scott Frost, Trev Alberts, maybe now is Nebraska's time to step up in Big Ten
Bender: Nebraska needs to step up in Big Ten