Reggie Bush among first-timers on 2022 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

(Getty Images)

USC's Reggie Bush, one of the most exciting college football players of the 21st century, is on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

Bush is one of 26 FBS players on the National Football Foundation's ballot for the class that will be inducted in 2022.

MORE: SN's college football preseason top 25

Bush's inclusion is interesting considering that the former Trojans star was stripped of the 2005 Heisman Trophy as part of his role in an improper benefits scandal that led to probation for USC.

On the field, there is no doubt that Bush warrants the honor. Bush had 4,470 yards from scrimmage and three TDs as part of the USC dynasty that dominated in the BCS era from 2003 to 2005. Bush has one of the most impressive highlight reels among college running backs.

Bush won the Heisman Trophy in 2005 and finished fifth in the voting in 2004. 

Bush isn't the only first-time member on the ballot. Miami coach Larry Coker joined a list of 26 FBS athletes and four FCS athletes. Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, the 2011 Maxwell Award winner, and Boise State's Kellen Moore, who won 50 starts with the Broncos, also are on the list. Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree and Florida State's Peter Warrick also made the ballot. 

The announcement of the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame class will be made in early 2022 and officially inducted during the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, 2022, in Atlanta. 

2022 NFF Hall of Fame ballot first-time members

Shaun Alexander Alabama
LaVar Arrington Penn State
Mark Bavaro Notre Dame
Eric Berry Tennessee
Reggie Bush USC
Michael Crabtree Texas Tech
Sylvester Croom Alabama
Jarett Dillard Rice
Warrick Dunn Florida State
Nick Eyre BYU
Toby Gerhart Stanford
Graham Harrell Texas Tech
Garrison Hearst Georgia
Bradie James LSU
Levon Kirkland Clemson
Andrew Luck Stanford
Marshawn Lynch Cal
Jeremy Maclin Missouri
Bryant McKinnie Miami, Fla.
Terry Miller Oklahoma State
Herman Moore Virginia
Kellen Moore Boise State
Paul Posluszny Penn State
Errict Rhett Florida
Kevin Smith Texas A&M
Peter Warrick Florida State
Roger Carr Louisiana Tech
Matt Dunnigan Louisiana Tech
Jeff Loots Southwest Minnesota State
Brian Westbrook Villanova

Latest News

Panthers waive JT Ibe after dangerous practice hit left Keith Kirkwood injured
Panthers waive JT Ibe after dangerous practice hit
Adidas UEFA Champions League 2020 finale officiall ball
Answer a survey and win a UCL official matchball!
Answer a survey and win a UCL official matchball!
Fabinho Liverpool 2021-22
Fabinho pens new five-year Liverpool deal
Fabinho pens new five-year Liverpool deal
Guillermo Ochoa - Charly Rodriguez - Mexico - 2021 Olympics
Mexico's Olympic gold medal dream crushed by Brazil on penalties: Lineup choice, substitute struggles sink El Tri
Borg: Why Mexico's soccer gold medal dream ended vs. Brazil
England fan security guard Wembley Euro 2020 final
UEFA opens disciplinary proceedings against England over Euro 2020 final disturbances
England face disciplinary action over Euro 2020 final disturbances