Tavon Austin nearly recorded the most bonehead play of the year, but thanks to an equally boneheaded decision by the officials, he escaped somewhat unscathed.
The 49ers attempted a 55-yard field goal attempt at the end of the first half. Phil Dawson's attempt went wide and short, at which point Tavon Austin was there to catch the ball and run it out of the end zone.
The issue here is that Austin changed his mind directly after he left the end zone, and started to go backwards, at which point he was tackled around the goal line.
The call on the field was ruled that the player was ruled down from forward progress outside the end zone, which saved the Rams from coughing up two points. The referees reviewed the play and the call on the field stood.
But look at the video. At no point is there anything that looks like "forward progress." The referees essentially ruled that since Austin was out of the end zone when the tackle began, he was ruled down there, as opposed to where he landed on the ground, such is the case with nearly every other tackle in football.